GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I have a 2011 Volt and live in Saskatchewan, Canada and winter is well on it's way.
I am wondering if I need to winterize my Volt as it won't be long when it's going to be -20C (-4F) for weeks on end.
I better check my windshield washer fluid to make sure it's winter rated and won't freeze and my anti-freeze and coolant.
Is there anything else I need to change?
I wonder if I have a thinner oil for the cold as this car was first owned in California I am sure it has seen it's first snow just a few weeks ago now that it homes in Canada.

I am a newbie so any advice or guidance is appreciated.

Cheers,
... lovin' the Volt ...

·
Registered
6,464 Posts
You might want to check on the gas. Most California gas has 10% ethanol, which might cause problems in extreme cold, though it should be fine. As for the oil, if it's synthetic, it should be fine, even in winter conditions. Make sure you monitor your tire pressure; ideally, you'll never want it to drop below 38 to 40 PSI. Check it first thing in the morning and inflate accordingly.

You should also look up information on these forums regarding preconditioning.

·
Registered
1,860 Posts
IMHO it is worthwhile to get snow tires. Also, you should have a cold weather emergency kit.

·
Registered
4,728 Posts
The antifreeze will be fine (50:50 Dexcool). Your oil is already a semi-synthetic that will be fine at those temps, don't change the weight as engine damage is actually more likely.

But at those frigid temps its important that the Volt stay pluggged-in at all times.As if the battery average cell temps get down to -24C it wont even attempt to draw power from them and gives you the "plug-in to warm" message. But these low temps won't hurt the battery, it.just cant deliver power.