GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What would be the possibilities of using a turbine engine rather than a piston engine in the volt to generate the electricity? It seems like a match made in heaven. A turbine engine is 2x as efficient as a piston engine weighs half as much and is much more compact. Not to mention far fewer moving parts. In theory you could at least double it's mpg while it's utilizing gas/e85 to keep the battery charged. I'm no expert on turbine engines though. Would this be possible? I know GM made and tested a turbine powered car, but it never worked all that well because of the variable speeds needed for a direct drive turbine car, but this seems like a match made in heaven. Your thoughts please

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
It's been suggested by Jason and others, and even presented possible turbine and rotary type engines as excellent candidates because of the reasons you suggested. The idea is good only if we can find less polluting engines. One type of rotary engine that have excellent potential would be the new one patented by Moller. If worked as claimed, it will be a match made in heaven (you can search for posts of Jason Henler). As of now, most consider it as vaporware. Do you have any candidate turbine or rotary engines (must pass EPA pollution standards) in mind that are already out there?

·
3,689 Posts
Jonathan is who you need to talk to:

Fast Company visited John's garage and found a 2005 Hummer H3 on jacks. John is going to put a 60,000 PRM, 1985, turbine, jet engine in the Hummer. The turbine engine will run on biodiesel or waste vegetable oil with a hydrogen-injector. John plans to make a series hybrid with this turbine engine. A beauty like that going to waste as a range extender? No, it charges a set of super capacitors in a matter of seconds, giving the car 600 horse power.