GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning, I'm driving (19 miles) without any HVAC (that I know of), no headlights, no wipers, no seat warmers, no defoggers, and my windows are up. I'm also in Fan Only mode--with the fan off. The outside temperature was about 51F (11C).

With all this in place, why is my Climate Setting on the Energy Efficiency screen showing 65%? :confused:

I've been driving like this for quite a while (a couple of months) and my climate usually around 100%. Even on the Climate screen it shows 0% for Climate Power.

(see attached photos...)

image.jpg image.jpg

3,607 Posts
why is my Climate Setting on the Energy Efficiency screen showing 65%? :confused
Good Afternoon PowerTrip,

To answer your question there is a on board heater for the high voltage battery. This uses around 900 watts and maintains an ambient temp around 85-87. From your post being 51F, it sounds like the OBH was running. If you have further questions feel free to contact the Volt Advisor Team! 877-486-5846

Happy Holidays!

-Ian Chevrolet Volt Customer Service

·
Registered
281 Posts
Most likely you left auto-defog turned on in the config settings. That will run the heater and AC even in fan-only mode.

Here's a helpful thread I didn't find until I had the same problem, and everyone gave me the same answers.
http://gm-volt.com/forum/showthread...ergy-use-in-cold-weather-driving-for-the-Volt
Option #3.

At 51F degrees or so outside with auto-defog on, I was using a lot of power also, went to 98% efficent after I turned it off.

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
Is what Ian stated correct? My understanding is that the electric TMS system for the battery only kicks in when the battery is below 40 degrees. So it is possible, if PowerTrip parked outside, ovenight or for a long period in temps (well ) below 40 degrees and upon driving the car, the TMS needed to quickly warm the battery up to above 40.