GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to GM-Volt would like anyone’s input to my issue
2013 with 55K check engine light came on and my monthly diagnostics report from Onstar said to see a dealer as I have a lithium battery issue. First visit said Charger software needed updated? Ok $140.00. Next day light on again took it back and did the software update again at no charge. Next day check engine light on again? Went back and left it. they came back and said my ac had lost its charge and that the problem is the condenser. I questioned why the check engine light would be on but was told that light will come on for almost any issue? They quoted me the repair but I said that I believe this should be covered under the Voltec 8 year 100,000 mile warranty as the ac is an integral part of the battery cooling, they didn’t seem to understand what I was talking about but said they would check with GM. Came back and said the condenser is not covered? Argued a bit with them but that is all they would tell me is no it is not covered. On warm nights the charger will shut off in the middle of charging now as I believe the battery is getting too warm. Have been using the 110 volt charger on the low setting and seems to be charging ok but it is not right. Contacted GM customer service and went on to one of the supervisors but they also told me no go on the condenser repair as it is only covered under the 3 year 36000 mile bumper to bumper warranty, argued with the person about this and tried to explain the thermal management system to them but they did not have clue what I was talking about and said they would not be fixing my ac. Any idea where I can go now? I believe this should be covered.

·
Registered
1,121 Posts