GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about getting a Volt however I'm concerned about how it performs in winter?

1) How does it handle in the snow, it's FWD and that worries me, I've been driving an AWD car for the past 11 years.

2) How well does the heater work?, I've read a few reviews that say it's marginal.

3) How well do the window defogger/defrosters (front and rear) work?

·
Registered
5,782 Posts
I'm in Dallas, so, we don't get that much ice/snow. However, when we did, the Volt handled as well or better than other cars/trucks (especially RWD) I have owned.

With the engine running, heat/defrost/defog work as well as any other car. On EV, a little weak ('13 Volt with known heater issues).

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the response but I'd really like to hear from owners who live in places where they get a real winter (New England, Midwest, Canada). I live in Massachusetts.

·
Registered
172 Posts
We get pretty decent winters here in Colorado and my 2012 was a trooper in the snow. I never had any issues with slipping and sliding around or getting stuck anywhere, even in our most recent blizzards. I've since upgraded to a 2017 so we'll see how it does, but I'm assuming it'll be just as good. I've driven AWD and much prefer FWD.

I also never had many issues with the heater or defog/defroster. If you're very battery minded running the heater full blast will definitely affect the range, but mine always put out decent heat and took care of the windows without any worries.

All in all the Volt impresses!!

·
Registered
5,410 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts