GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had anticipated being well into the whole Voltebago thing by now but...best laid plans and all of that. Anyway, I tried to set up the Napier 86000 yesterday for the first time. I was alone and while it wasn't difficult to get the basics a second set of hands would have helped greatly.
My issue is with attaching the tent sleeve over the hatch. I found a spot under the hood to secure it and close the hood. The attachment for the rear wheel well didn't go so well. It seems our back end is very short in relation to the well and I had issues there. Also, getting the lower apron or sleeve situated didn't seem to work right.
Has anyone used this tent before and can offer any tips?

·
Registered
3,351 Posts
I have no experience with this tent. I haven't been camping for years. I looked at pictures of the tent with various hatchbacks. What advantages do you feel you get compared to a stand-alone tent?

·
Registered
39 Posts
I was going to ask the same thing. Why do you want to be able to get into your car from the tent? I don't get it. Please explain why this is useful.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Isn't one advantage of the attached tent that you can use the car's climate controls for heating or cooling while you are in the tent? I thought that was the main advantage.

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
Isn't one advantage of the attached tent that you can use the car's climate controls for heating or cooling while you are in the tent? I thought that was the main advantage.
I'd think so, but then are you 'really' camping? :)

Google search shows all types of hatchback tents

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
I was going to ask the same thing. Why do you want to be able to get into your car from the tent? I don't get it. Please explain why this is useful.