GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am looking to find how to put my volt 2017 in learning mode for my new TPMS on my winter tires. Can someone help?

Thanks.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
21,493 Posts
It's in the owner's manual.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
91 Posts
I tried to figure it out through the menu, and I had to refer to the manual. The tricky part was that the emergency brake had to be deployed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
568 Posts
I need to rotate my tires on my 2017 - and from what I read in the manual, you need one of the relearn tools to do it properly.

I like to do my own basic vehicle maintenance... not worth it to me to make an appointment and waste an hour or two at a dealer. I don't have the TPMS tool so I might just wind up rotating the tires and keeping a little note about which tire corresponds to which wheel on the dash indicator.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
you definitely need the tool. They're not very expensive. Well worth for us that use winter tires and need it twice a year.

Otherwise, many mechanics (and here in Montreal, some dealerships) will learn the sensors for free...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,130 Posts
I need to rotate my tires on my 2017 - and from what I read in the manual, you need one of the relearn tools to do it properly.

I like to do my own basic vehicle maintenance... not worth it to me to make an appointment and waste an hour or two at a dealer. I don't have the TPMS tool so I might just wind up rotating the tires and keeping a little note about which tire corresponds to which wheel on the dash indicator.
Why not support your local tire shop?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Volt 2017 TPMS relearn

you definitely need the tool. They're not very expensive. Well worth for us that use winter tires and need it twice a year.

Otherwise, many mechanics (and here in Montreal, some dealerships) will learn the sensors for free...
I found how. For the Volt 2017, you need to :

1. Set the parking brake.
2. Place the vehicle in ON/RUN.
3. Make sure the Tire Pressure info page option is turned on. The info pages on the DIC can be turned on and off through the Settings menu.
4. Use the DIC controls on the right side of the steering wheel to scroll to the Tire Pressure screen under the DIC info page.
5. Press and hold the ✓ (Set/Reset) button located in the center of the DIC controls. The horn sounds twice to signal the receiver is in relearn mode and the TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message displays on the DIC screen.
6. Start with the driver side front tire.
7. Place the relearn tool against the tire sidewall, near the valve stem. Then press the button to activate the TPMS sensor. A horn chirp confirms that the sensor identification code has been matched to this tire and wheel position.
8. Proceed to the passenger side front tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
9. Proceed to the passenger side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
10. Proceed to the driver side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7. The horn sounds two times to indicate the sensor identification code has been matched to the driver side rear tire, and the matching process is no longer active. The TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message on the DIC
display screen goes off.
11. Turn the vehicle off.
12. Set all four tires to the recommended air pressure level as indicated on the Tire and Loading Information label.

The underlined parts was what I was looking for. They where in the owner manual.

The local tire store had no clue how to put my car in learning mode. Their tool did not have the option for the volt 2017. They had to use the relearn tool like it was a Traverse 2016. The Traverse 2016 uses 433 MHz like the Volt 2017. After figuring that out, they where able to program the TPMS that I bought on ebay. The dealer ones where too expensive for me. My local Pneus Éthier was kind enough to help me for free and now they know how to do it.

Thanks for everyone help.
 
G

·
For future reference, if you are near a Costco, they will usually reset them for free, you just have to ask nicely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
I tried to figure it out through the menu, and I had to refer to the manual. The tricky part was that the emergency brake had to be deployed.
I just changed back over to summer tires and didn't set the parking brake (forgot). Still worked. I think the parking brake step is just lawyer-speak because they have you turn the car "on" then get out and walk around.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
I just changed back over to summer tires and didn't set the parking brake (forgot). Still worked. I think the parking brake step is just lawyer-speak because they have you turn the car "on" then get out and walk around.
I mean technically you are supposed to set the parking brake every time you put a vehicle in park, as well, so that is probably correct.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Can this procedure be done by deflating the tires in order, instead of using the activation tool?

I've seen some cars do it like this, including Chevys.
 

·
Registered
2013 Volt
Joined
·
1,758 Posts
Can this procedure be done by deflating the tires in order, instead of using the activation tool?

I've seen some cars do it like this, including Chevys.
2011 model (and maybe 2012) could use tire deflation method, but not after that. Even if possible, the new low prices for the relearn tool make it much more sensible to use the tool and avoid having drop pressures and then refill.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top