·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Great information, thanks!

·
Registered
351 Posts
How many amps at 240V ?

Wow, very nicely done! So does this modification support 16A, 240V or is it the same as the LCS-20, 15A, 240V Clipper Creek unit then?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I did this modification today. I have a 2013 volt. The PC board inside the factory supplied EVSE is a clipper creek, date code is june 2011.

I measured the following:
241 volts, 12.4 amps = 2.98 kw
120 volts, 13.1 amps = 1.57 kw

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
Very nice. Super simple.
Surprised all the current goes through the PCB directly like that. Though I'm no electronics expert.;)

Already bought a 240, or might have considered this mod.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Job well done. Speaks well of the Clipper Creek engineering. This is just the kind of project I would tackle. I have done numerous small electronic restorations (guitar amps, etc.) and would easily be able to follow this video to complete the conversion.

Thanks for sharing.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Brilliant! Thanks so much for this!

Exactly what I was looking for before I purchased my Turbocord. You can easily carry several ends for different plug types you may encounter.

I wonder why EVSE Upgrade never offered an 240V upgrade with the Volt EVSE like they do with the Leaf.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
So does this modification support 16A, 240V or is it the same as the LCS-20, 15A, 240V Clipper Creek unit then?
The EVSE will still advertise only 12 amps, so this would be equivalent to an LCS-15

·
Registered
351 Posts
I did this modification today. I have a 2013 volt. The PC board inside the factory supplied EVSE is a clipper creek, date code is june 2011.

I measured the following:
241 volts, 12.4 amps = 2.98 kw
120 volts, 13.1 amps = 1.57 kw
so charging at 240V with this mod will take about 5 hours rather than 4 hours at 240V, 15A ???

·
Registered
9 Posts
From another thread......
I suspect the EVSE supplied with all volts is limited to 12 amps.