GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dad just had to replace his generator in his RV and it got me thinking.

I wonder how much engineering it would take to make it so that the Volt could be plugged into your wall outlet and backfeed your house with power in the case of emergency. Just like a generator that runs on gas would do.

Honestly i'm far from an electrical engineer and i know we got some really smart guys on here. So come on guys what would it take for this to work on a normal house? What would it take for the Volt to be able to do this? Is it possible at all? Would the extra parts/engineering be worth it finacially? whatever else i haven't thought of?

It would be alot easier to swallow 35K for the Volt if i new i was also getting a what 16Kwh generator with a 12 gal fuel tank in the case of an emergency.

·
3,689 Posts
Hi JPhillips, You can go to the old forum (click the button) and check out the lively debate we had on V2G to G2V. Not only is it possible but there are on-going research projects working hard on the problem. Basically you have an intelligent connection between the car, house and the grid. When the programming is done they will all work in harmony. Each using their assets in the best way, like the example you mentioned. The car's battery working as a backup to your house, a backup for the grid during peak times, the battery working as a sink when the grid has excess capacity, etc. I'm very excited about this technology and feel it's the way our new smart grid will be built. Think of energy as the next currently. There needs to be a way for people to charge and be charged for energy. A smart grid is the solution. The technology exists today but we need the best minds in the world to come up with the optimal implementation. It will also cost a ton of money (well spent if you ask me - direct value added infrastructure - on US soil by US workers). Check out the old thread! :)

·
Registered