GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Potential used volt buyer here.

Is it possible to simply turn OFF the center console screen, so that it is totally black and gives no information?

One of my biggest pet peeves about Teslas are the massive touchscreens that can't be easily turned off. I have a job where I work with screens in my face all day. Sometimes I just want to drive without a screen screaming "TECHNOLOGY!" in my face.

With the tesla, you have to cycle through menus and put the screen into "screen cleaning mode" to turn it off.

The volt screen isn't nearly as big and annoying as the tesla, but it's still there in your peripheral view, begging for your attention, and illuminating your car interior. Can it be turned off?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,439 Posts
Yes, there is a setting in the configuration menu for screen off. I think it defaults to on each time you start the car, so if you want it always off, you have to set it each time. Or maybe you could disable the screen somehow (fuse or wiring). However the screen is very helpful for controlling HVAC and radio. Not essential, but helpful.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,782 Posts
With the CUE version, you can set it to just display an analog clock. Very handy since it doesn't turn off the radio. CUE is also nice as it removes icons that you aren't using until you reach toward the display. Cleans it up pretty well.

CUE - Cadillac User Experience
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,313 Posts
Yes, there is a setting in the configuration menu for screen off. I think it defaults to on each time you start the car, so if you want it always off, you have to set it each time. Or maybe you could disable the screen somehow (fuse or wiring). However the screen is very helpful for controlling HVAC and radio. Not essential, but helpful.
For gen1? I don't recall ever seeing that option... I just checked the manual and didn't see it either, but I could have missed something.

OP, you can make it easily just show "Volt" on a black background by pushing the power button just below the screen... perhaps that is good enough? Alternatively, there is a fuse for just the screen IIRC, but you can't access it while driving. You could maybe wire up a switch if it's very important to you. Just FYI, my head unit died recently (and it drives the screen) so I was without that display for about 6 weeks... it was really annoying. No radio, no real HVAC control, etc. Obviously you want to be able to toggle it on/off, but man I didn't realize how much I missed it until it was gone.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
Not quite clear but you might be able to configure the menu settings to show no icons on your 'home' page', and then you just press 'home' with no icons showing. That would be almost blank.
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
4,851 Posts
Potential used volt buyer here.

Is it possible to simply turn OFF the center console screen, so that it is totally black and gives no information?
Yes, although the devil is in the details on how it's implemented.

Accessed as described above, through the Config Menu, the display will turn off.
- In the 2011 (and I believe 2012) Volts, the screen completely turns off, it's like turning off your TV.
- In the 2013-2015, the screen goes black, but the backlight stays lit so it's not "truly" off. This may or may not annoy you.
- Not sure about the 2016-2017 Gen 2 Volt, but since we're in the Gen 1 thread I'm guessing you don't care. ;)

In each case, doing something like pressing the center console's Menu button will cause the screen to turn back on.

'cept this doesn't actually turn the touchscreen off since the backlight is still left on even in this mode...
Well it does on some model years, see above. :) For the Gen 1 Volt, I think it ties back to whether or not the Volt has the built in Hard drive. That's only on 2011 and (most?) 2012 model years. On those configs, the screen does turn off completely, backlight and all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,556 Posts
I have a simpler solution. Buy some black construction paper, cut it to size, tape it on. Even better, print a family photo on 8x11 paper, cut it to size, tape it on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
You can also just press the voice command button on the steering wheel and say "display off" and it will turn it off. It doesn't however turn the backlight off as somms pointed out.
really? That's cool, will have to try that. Are there any other (non phone related) voice commands that work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
Shame. No. No voice command.

Were you joking? I didn't get it.

It'd make good sense to be able to drive config menus by voice. Trying to turn off autofog or erdtt, inadvertently left on, is a nightmare in the middle of a journey.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,106 Posts
Not a joke. press the button on the steering wheel when you want to answer a call (picture of a phone/person speaking and when the lady voice says comes on, you can say "display off". There is a whole list of commands. Check page 68 of the infotainment guide. You can control radio, input addresses/POI's if you have nav, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,945 Posts
Shame. No. No voice command.

Were you joking? I didn't get it.

It'd make good sense to be able to drive config menus by voice. Trying to turn off autofog or erdtt, inadvertently left on, is a nightmare in the middle of a journey.
What? Just pull over, do the thing, get back on the road. Not so hard, and probably takes less time than dealing with a voice response menuing system. If you're someplace where that's really inconvenient, the net cost of leaving them on is another 50p of petrol at worst.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
Not a joke. press the button on the steering wheel when you want to answer a call (picture of a phone/person speaking and when the lady voice says comes on, you can say "display off". There is a whole list of commands. Check page 68 of the infotainment guide. You can control radio, input addresses/POI's if you have nav, etc.
Maybe with the full infotainment system, mine just ignores me. It lists the available speech commands, and then shuts itself down if you don't say one of them. 'Display off' isn't one of them. Shame.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,106 Posts
There are a LOT of commands that it doesn't tell you when you say "list" or "help". I just press the button and when she comes on to say "say a command" I tell her "display off" and it works. It always comes back on if any button is pressed though.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top