GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Volt and wondering what tips owners have for operating in high temperatures. Do you always want to run the a/c or is the automatic fan system enough for cooling the systems if temperatures get above 100 degrees F? I try not to run the a/c often I will put windows down and let the breeze cool me off since I do not live in a humid area it does not bother me the dry heat. On freeways I will use the ECO a/c option.

Thank you and sorry if this is a repeat. I've searched and found old discussions but not specific and in the faqs only about operating tips in cold weather.

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
I am new to the Volt and wondering what tips owners have for operating in high temperatures. Do you always want to run the a/c or is the automatic fan system enough for cooling the systems if temperatures get above 100 degrees F? I try not to run the a/c often I will put windows down and let the breeze cool me off since I do not live in a humid area it does not bother me the dry heat. On freeways I will use the ECO a/c option.

Thank you and sorry if this is a repeat. I've searched and found old discussions but not specific and in the faqs only about operating tips in cold weather.
Easy to answer. I almost exclusively drive with the window down. First, the Volt takes care of itself. It has its own system to help cool the battery. You do not have to be running the AC to make it work or help keep the battery cool. Here is what WILL happen though. If it is hot enough outside (usually around 90 or above) the Volt will run the AC to cool the battery. When this happens, you will notice cold air coming from the vents even though you may have the AC off. When this happens, you might as well roll up the windows and enjoy the cool air regardless. Sometimes, I still leave the windows down and just let it blow the cold air. Anyway, that is it. Easy...

·
Registered
13,556 Posts