GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a CAD Designer at GM working at the GM Technical Center. I asked to work on the Volt and they gave it to me. I'm so excited to be working on this vehicle. Its the coolest car I've ever done. Anyways, I have a question. Does anyone have any information on Vehicular Wind Turbines? I've been told that it doesn't work. I'd like to know if the idea has been tested?

·
Registered
38 Posts
designer or engineer

In this house we obey the laws of physics

Seriousely a turbine on a car. to what? power the batteries as its moving on battery power.

Jenkies, you'd never have to stop. Perpetual motion here at last. Why didnt anybody think of this earlier. Who needs battiers at all. Just push start the thing and let all that endless wind power work for you.

·
3,689 Posts
Yeah, what the poster above said. People just love this concept but I'm afraid the only way it will work for you is the following setup (the car is stopped and you pull out the turbine from the trunk and set it up). The guy in the video is a few years ahead of everyone in terms of thinking. I won't even mention that the video is quite old! Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=raLgNo0jhys

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know, I know. Everybody makes fun of me when I bring it up but I think its one of these things that "everybody" knows won't work but has never been tested. I was talking to one guy who made this wind buggy thing and he said that when the impellars are up to speed there is no resistance. And I also just saw a Mitsubishi i MiEV concept car with Vehicular Wind Turbines right up front mounted in the fascia. I don't know... It seems to me that you could use some of the energy(wind resistance) that you have already overcome to spin a couple of small generators and send a small charge back to the batteries. I wonder if its ever been tested.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6