GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a student, I did an EV conversion for the University of Michigan Transportation Dept. back in 1995. The car was used by a lot of different people. One of the big feedback items was that people would get a shock when they got out of the car. They were concerned that they were going to die. Now, this is a pretty reasonable concern. The fact is that it was just static electricity buildup due to the use of low rolling resistance tires. But being an EV, there was a real problem of perception.

I would suggest that the Volt use low rolling resistance tires (because that makes a big difference in range), but that the tires be specified to have some minimum resistivity to allow static buildup to dissipate.

This has the added benefit of reducing the risk of gas station fires triggered by static electricity.

·
Registered
200 Posts
I'd never even considered this. It's common for this to happen in low-humidity conditions, but people who can't remember where they put their keys won't remember that the same thing happened in their conventional cars for years and will howl that the Volt is going to electrocute them. You're right that GM should try to get ahead of this and hopefully minimize that static charge or someone will sue for "emotional distress."

·
Registered
2 Posts
My concern with this is how it would handle in snowy/winter conditions...heck even rainy conditions. I'm not sure what the makeup or design of "low rolling resistance tires" are, but my thoughts are on the traction these tires would have. :confused:

On another note...

Static build-up you say, huh? Sounds like potential to gather more "residual" charge for the system in general. I'm sure they could find (or already have) a way to harness this extra energy. :)

·
Registered
146 Posts
One of the big feedback items was that people would get a shock when they got out of the car.