GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not an expert on tax software, but I just wasted a lot of time with H&R Block (formerly TaxCut) 2010.
After struggling a bit, I finally found a paragraph in the online help system that addresses form 8936 ("Qualified Plug-In Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit"). Here's what it says:

Text taken from a link from the software's Hybrid Car and Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit page, which corresponds to form 8910:
What if this vehicle qualifies for the plug-in electric drive motor vehicle credit?
If a vehicle qualifies for the qualified plug-in electric drive motor vehicle credit on Form 8396, Qualified Plug-In Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit, the vehicle doesn't qualify for the alternative motor vehicle credit. Don't enter information about the vehicle in this topic. Form 8396 is not supported in the program this year.
That last sentence is a killer, isn't it?

I don't think H&R Block 2010 supports form 8911 ("Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit") either. FYI, if this page (scroll down) is to be believed then TaxAct 2010 does support forms 8936 and 8911. I don't know about TurboTax 2010.

Any thoughts?

edit: I did not add the following attached TurboTax image to my post, nor am I able to delete it. Hmm.
In post#8, barry252 finds Form 8911 on a list (updated 10/27/2010) of forms not supported by TurboTax.

Attachments

·
Registered
435 Posts
I am not a Tax Accountant or preparer, but I can share what I've found so far.