GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,188 Posts
Interesting read... But the chemistry, and thermal management of a cell phone battery is very different from a Volt's system.

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am no engineer but I assumed there would be some implications for future Voltec tech. Sorry for wasting your time...

·
Registered
5,188 Posts
No, No... Not a waste of time. (Did not mean it that way.) I was just saying that designing batteries for an automobile is more complex than a cell phone. Cell phones have very different requirements. Still an interesting read.

·
Registered
120 Posts
The problem with comparing cars to smartphones is that cars don't use half as much energy to drive the same mile every 2 years, but semiconductors do. The next iPhone will use half as much energy for the same tasks as the current 4S between the CPU and cellular chip because the chips themselves are fabricated at a smaller process (45/40nm to 32/28nm). Cars though, just keep getting bigger, and use more energy.

The solutions they write about in that article are applicable - better electrolytes for higher voltage batteries (increasing per-cell voltage), replacing the graphite annode (with either tin or silicon), and solid state batteries (Prieto). But they're still not commercialized. The electrolyte is probably the closest to commercialization (one year), then silicon anodes in the next 2 years, and solid state batteries in 5 years.

But beyond that, think about how long it takes to qualify a battery for use in an EV. Would you let your wife/children sleep in a bedroom over a charging EV where the batteries haven't been fully qualified and tested for safety? It'll take 18-24 months to qualify a battery after its in first production run for use in vehicles.

Sadly, don't expect any huge leaps anytime soon. I want a huge leap too, but the battery improvement rate will still be 8-10% over the next 4-5 years.

·
Registered
481 Posts