GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a gen 2 2017 volt ,i am planning to get some new tmps and need to get a relearning tool ,i have searched the ebay and internet but they said that they only have for the 2016 .any ideas where i can get one and also anyone know where i can get compatible tmps i guess as long as they are 433 mhz. any suggestions would be great thx
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
TPMS tools can be expensive, for a quality one, if all you need is a relearn, you could go and ask your nearest Costco, most times they will do this for free, no hassle.
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can check the cost of the sensors for you tomorrow, what year Volt?
 

·
Registered
2013 Volt
Joined
·
1,540 Posts
Surrey, BC? Surrey, N Dakota? Surrey, England? I believe all the relearn tools capable of working with 315 MHz sensors also work with 433 MHz. eBay has tools ranging from ~$10 to ~$140. Any tire dealer should be able to sell you sensors and install them. Are you buying winter wheels or something that require you to buy sensors for a 2017?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,925 Posts

·
Administrator
Joined
·
20,437 Posts
The relearn tool I got for my 2011 Volt also works on my 2017 Bolt even though they are different frequencies. One that works with a 2016 Volt will work with 2017, 2018.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
The relearn tool I got for my 2011 Volt also works on my 2017 Bolt even though they are different frequencies. One that works with a 2016 Volt will work with 2017, 2018.
Yep - they do both 315MHz and 433MHz. I use it on my 2017 Volt and my wife's 2014 Cruze Diesel.
 
A

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
2017 volt lt , so when you rotate your tires or when you change the summer to winter and visa versa you need to relearn , if you dont do this do you get a message on your dash . thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
If you rotate the tires, you won't get a message, but your pressure readings won't be in the right spot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,925 Posts
If you rotate the tires, you won't get a message, but your pressure readings won't be in the right spot.
Funny thing, I religiously rotated my tires myself on the first set to the 36k mark when I had to replace them. My solution was to stick a postit in my glovebox with arrows showing where the TPMSes have moved to. When a tire was low on the screen, I’d look at the cheat sheet to see which tire to fill. Then when I finally got a relearn tool (and new 18 inch wheels and tires, plus snows on the OEM wheels), I stopped rotating my tires. Worn front tires get tossed, relatively unworn rears get moved to the front, new tires placed in the rear, tires never swap sides. Ok so technically I’m still rotating, but only once in a tire’s lifetime.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top