GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Disclaimer: I am NOT an electrician, though I am an IT lead and work with electricity a fair amount. This article is purely for reference, I am not recommending any specific parts/items/procedures.

This discussion is strictly about LEVEL 1 charging and the implications of doing so with most home electrical outlets.

A generation 1 Volt is set up to charge at either
  • Lev 1 LOW: 110 Volts at 8 Amp (880 Watts)
  • Lev 1 HIGH: 110 Volts at 12 Amp (1,320 Watts)

Okay so nice numbers but what do they actually mean?

Well with resistance like you'd get from a corroded connection, 880 watts is capable of producing up to 3,000 BTU/HR of heat and 1,320 watts, around 4,500 BTU/HR. Compare this to the average electric stove burner which maxes out at 7,000 BTU/HR and you begin to realize just how much heat a bad electrical connection can generate within a minute or two of being turned on.

Additionally, It is also important to understand that this is not an intermittent or brief draw, this is a continuous draw over the course of several hours. To put it in perspective, another item commonly used in the house that draws similar power is THIS.

Now imagine leaving a hairdryer on for several hours at a time. This is a LOT of stress on an electrical system and if your “upstream” parts such as the wall socket, connections, or wiring, are old, corroded, or just plain sub-standard it is going to come back to haunt you.

So what do I do?

Probably the best/safest thing to do is hire a licensed electrician to assess your electrical system. Give them the above listed numbers and have them determine if your socket/wiring is up to the task. But if you are a die-hard do it yourselfer then there are a few things you should know.

I shouldn’t have to say this but, DISCLAIMER: WORKING WITH ELECTRICITY IS DANGEROUS. LEARN SAFE PRACTICES BEFORE ATTEMPTING ANY REPAIRS, UPGRADES, OR MODIFICATIONS.