GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to www.GM-Volt.com and find this site a great source of information as I search for a new Chevy volt. I'm ready to commit to this new White Diamond Tricoat with Beige interior and dark accents (leather) 2013 Volt at $33,985. delivered to me from out of state (including the dealer docs fees) equipped with Prem. Trim Pkg, 17" 5 spoke polished AL wheels, MyLink w/Navigation, Prem. Bose sound, Safety Pkg. 1 which original MSRP was $44,945. I do understand a similarly equipped 2014 would be 5k less at $39,945 MSRP, and then there are area dealers discounting of 3k from that for a 2014. The absolute largest discount I've come across is $5k off MSRP on a 2014, but in a color I don't want to own.

So I'm struggling with whether or not to get a 2013 at an effective -$5,960. as opposed to a 2014 at -$3,000. My question is this: Is the later resale value of a used 2013 Volt likely to be lower than a 2014 by that kind of differential: $2960. ($5960-3000) The other factor that I am having trouble sorting out is whether or not in view of the 2016 2nd Generation Volt announced to come out in the 2nd half of 2015 is worth waiting for, since I haven't committed yet to my first electric-gas car yet.

One thing I am convinced of, is that the Chevy Volt features, the 6 mile road test, and the competition specs all point to the Chevy Volt being what I want. I absolutely want a range extender engine in my car, as I couldn't stand to run out of battery power as an absolute electric like the 2014 Ford Fusion Electric would do to me. The Toyota Prius doesn't have enough electric only range in any of their models to satisfy me, nor do the others. I like the Tesla but I understand they have a waiting list. And If I was in that price range I'd prefer the Tesla AWD model X which is way off in the future in terms of availability.