GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting, this is a wonderful forum you guys have going on here. I am the proud owner of 2013 Volt. I was wondering if I would be able to install 2014 Cadillac ELR rims and tires on my vehicle? The specs of the set are as follows: 20x8.5, 245/40R20 offset 41. As from what I read the bolt pattern (5x115) is the same and I know that I will loose some of my range, but I really like the style of the rims and would like to have them on my Volt. Basically, I want to know if these tires and offset (ELR 41, Volt 38) will clear the suspension, especially the front? And if it will rub at all? Thank in advance for any advice that can be given.

Deo

·
Registered
589 Posts
Those 20 inch rims will probably have a negative effect on your ride quality. (The ELR has a an upgraded suspension.) And they may impart a decidedly donkish look to a gen 1 Volt.

·
Registered
907 Posts
Those ELR tires will be 1.4" larger diameter, so IF they do fit, your speedometer and odometer will be about 5% off.

·
Registered
13,556 Posts
You might consider looking at Cadillac CTS wheels between 2004 and 2008. Those have the same bolt pattern. I luckily already own a CTS, so my snow tires that I bought for the volt could be bolted right onto the CTS.

I wonder if I put the CTS wheels on the volt and replace the badges whether I'd fool anyone into thinking this was a caddy? It brings back bad memories of the dark times when GM rebadged a Chevy Citation into the Cadillac Cimarron.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
As noted the ELR tires have a larger diameter and will rub the inner fender wells in hard turns and bottom out easier. I use 20" MRR wheels with the correct bolt pattern and offset and 235 35 20 tires for this reason and they make a huge positive difference in how the car handles for me. But you will loose about 15% mileage vs the stock tires.

·
Registered
1,431 Posts