GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did a search and came up with nothing...........

Wondering if anyone has used these and your impressions.

NOT interested in LEDs

Thanks

·
Registered
629 Posts
This is Phillips version of a Sylvania Silverstar Ultra. Both are expensive for a traditional incandescent bulbs. Both have short lifespans. So plan on replacing BOTH in less than a year, especially if you do frequent nighttime driving. When one fails the other will follow shortly there after.

I’ve had a lot of experience with The Silverstars for many years in a few different vehicles. I replaced more than you could imagine. I finally transitioned to LED in one application with great success and HID in our Volt. I did have to replace the HID bulbs once since the conversion, one bulb failed but are one sold in pairs, so opted to change to 5000k from the 6000k that I originally installed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
234 Posts
When I bought the 2013 I traded in a car with auto-leveling HID headlights. As a result, I was never happy with the Volt headlights. The low beams were useless and the light was yellowish - probably the worst headlights on any of my cars in recent years. I had better lights on some cars back in the 80s. Like you, I did not want to do an LED or HID conversion and went looking for some halogen upgrade that would be an improvement. I wound up installing a set of Sylvania Silver Star Ultra 9006 bulbs, and am very pleased with the results. They made a world of difference - noticeably brighter & whiter, and reach farther down the road.

The obvious tradeoffs are the shorter life span and cost, but I can live with that for the difference in performance. With luck, I figure I can get 18 - 24 months out of them. Prices are absurd, but I found a brand new set on eBay at about $25 below Amazon. If I find another good deal I'll pick up another set just to have on hand.