GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to the volt I have had it since june 2013..
the only thing like most other on this site is the slow charging time of the 3.3kw onboard charger...
can someone tell me if there is an upgrade or after market charger that can change this . a lot of the level 2 chargers are charging at 6.6kw or so

any ideas anyone

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
onboard charger

I am relatively new to the volt I have had it since june 2013..
the only thing like most other on this site is the slow charging time of the 3.3kw onboard charger...
can someone tell me if there is an upgrade or after market charger that can change this . a lot of the level 2 chargers are charging at 6.6kw or so

any ideas anyone

·
Registered
3,577 Posts
AFAIK, there is no way to increase the ability of the on-board charger to allow 6.6kWh charging. I don't believe that that is software limited. We will have to wait for Gen2 to see if that will be changed.

·
8,680 Posts
The onboard charger is heavily integrated into the car's systems, and critical to the proper function and longevity of the battery. It also does other things, like providing 12V power to run the coolant pumps during charging.

Given all of the above, it's not surprising that there aren't any aftermarket options, nor are there likely to be in the future. GM could offer a faster charger in the future, but I don't really expect it - and I'm not sure that the wiring inside the car is heavy enough to handle twice as much current to begin with.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Well when you are in mountain mode with a fully discharged battery its is charging at a rate a lot higher than 6.6 KW...

·
Registered
13,940 Posts
Well when you are in mountain mode with a fully discharged battery its is charging at a rate a lot higher than 6.6 KW...
Yes, but that is for relatively short spurts, not a prolonged big 4 hour charge.

·
Registered
44 Posts