GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time buying a new car. I factory ordered a new Volt and I am wondering what to expect for the odometer reading. The manual says that the engine break-in is already done, so does that mean there will be a fair amount of mileage already on the car when I take delivery?

·
Registered
706 Posts
It will likely be in single digits, breaking in at the factory doesn't mean putting miles on it.

·
Registered
6,661 Posts
Having ordered several new cars over the decades I can tell you the miles on the car at delivery can vary from just a few to over 25. A lot depends on how much distance the car has to be driven during the delivery process and where the dealer has to go to fill the gas tank. My Corvettes had the most miles at delivery OFF the truck as some get selected for what they call a QUALITY AUDIT performed by Corvette engineers. This is a coveted process because ANY defect found is correct at the factory before being released for shipment.

Here's a photo of the mileage on my 2014 Stingray immediately after it came off the truck. I was there to see it being delivered

But most vehicles don't get any special testing prior to being loaded for shipping

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm jealous. I've never seen such a low odometer reading. Will definitely take a pic of mine when I get it for memory sake.
Did the dealer call you to watch the delivery or were you tracking it yourself?

·
Registered
6,661 Posts
I'm jealous. I've never seen such a low odometer reading. Will definitely take a pic of mine when I get it for memory sake.
Did the dealer call you to watch the delivery or were you tracking it yourself?
Yes, I work about 15 minutes from my dealer and they asked the truck driver to call with his ETA, I was there to watch it being delivered

·
Registered
340 Posts
single digits