GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new Volt owner. I bought a 2014 with 43,000 miles on it for $13,000.

I'm a professional Scouter (District Executive, Boy Scouts of America) and drive an average of 150 miles a day so I won't be on electricity as much as some but the Volt will still drop my fuel costs by 1/4 to 1/3.

A few questions:

Is it possible to use an adapter with the stock Voltec charger with an RV park hookup?

What is a good option for a rear hitch (I want to use a bike rack and occasionally a luggage hauler for camping gear).

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
If you are lucky and have the Clipper Creek version (back is secured by screws not fused) then it can be slightly modified to allow level 2 charging. Check for a thread on this by searching.

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
Chances are you do not have the compatible EVSE to adapt without cracking it open if you're not electronically inclined. (newer ones appear to work with an external plug adapter - no modification required)

However any L2 (240V) EVSE you purchase can have the appropriate plug for RV put on the end and ready to go with you.
In your situation i would put the same RV plug at my home and have the EVSE stay at home for daily charging. Then when you go out on a trip, simply unplug it and take it with you for use on the camp site. Leave the stock 120V unit in the trunk 24/7.

·
Registered
13,845 Posts
Aren't many RV parks outfitted with a 30A 110V plug? The reason I suspect this is that I had that plug wired up at my tool shed, and when I plugged my airstream into it, it fried my inverter/charger because the meathead electrician wired it up for 220. It also ruined a dewalt 18v battery charger in the process.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So I was out of reach of a 110 plug today and decided to try an extension cord I found a red extension cord the label was a little bit scratched but what it seems to say is :

5A
125V