GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Robert. I am new to the GM-Volt Forum. I own a 2012 Volt, which I purchased used from a dealership after it had just returned from a lease. I have owned it for over two years now. I purchased the extended warranty, which expired just 49 days ago. I love my car and have been happy with it so far. I drive mostly electric miles, 155 MPG to-date, with only 31,000 on the odometer.

Today, I was greeted with a lovely "Service High Voltage Charging System" with the check engine light on. Well, I joined this forum so that I could look up this error code and see what gives. I love my Volt but, this makes me very upset. I see lots of postings listing problems with the charging system. This concerns me because lithium-ion batteries can catch fire, under the right conditions. The idea of a cooling system failing, while my car is plugged-in and charging in the garage, terrifies me. Could my car overheat, catch fire, and set my house ablaze?

My problem it turns out, has to do with the battery coolant level sensor supposedly being bad. I have replied to an existing thread on the subject and am hoping someone can help me. Some people say that this would be covered under the 100,000 mile Voltec warranty and some say not. My dealer seems to think it's not covered. This is a huge blow as I don't see why a car with only 31k miles on it, that's been continually coddled, would suddenly do this. Not only is it expensive and time consuming to replace the sensor but, this episode undermines my sense of security in the quality of the build and the safety of the car. This is indeed a sad day!

·
Administrator
19,968 Posts
this episode undermines my sense of security in the quality of the build and the safety of the car. This is indeed a sad day!
A bit dramatic and an unwarranted over reaction in my opinion.