GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have read some of the posts and I had 3 thoughts of how to help recharge some of the battery power while driving.

1. Shock absorbers that were actually a magnet in the cylinder with a coil of wire around the cylinder. As the car travels, the weight of the car and the road conditions would create a small magnetic charge. How much of a charge I am not sure, since I am not an engineer.

2. A turbo on the exhaust pipe of the gasoline engine. This would be connectecd to a power generator where the exhaust gases would spin the tubo and turn the generator to recharge the battery.

3. A ball magnet or a group of ball magnets placed in a stationary ball of wire. The electric current would be created when the car is accelerated and the ball magnet(magnets) would move backwards due to the acceleration. Conversely it would move forward when the brakes where applied, right when the car was turned left and right when the car was turned left. Although the weight may require more power exherted than can be produced but like I said I am not an engineer.

number 4 is listed below in the posts.

·
Registered
125 Posts
hmmm...

I have read some of the posts and I had 3 thoughts of how to help recharge some of the battery power while driving.

1. Shock absorbers that were actually a magnet in the cylinder with a coil of wire around the cylinder. As the car travels, the weight of the car and the road conditions would create a small magnetic charge. How much of a charge I am not sure, since I am not an engineer.

2. A turbo on the exhaust pipe of the gasoline engine. This would be connectecd to a power generator where the exhaust gases would spin the tubo and turn the generator to recharge the battery.