GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, purchased a 2012 Volt about a week ago. Very cool car, it's got everything but navigation. 77,000 miles lifetime 110 mpg. Just had the recall software update done and averaging about 9.4 kwh used per drive. Had the low propulsion power message pop up once same day I got it but not since, scared the **** out of me. But the car had sat along time fully charged and hadn't been driven much.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Congratulations on your purchase of a 2012 Volt!

I am still fascinated by the 2012 Volt I’ve been driving for over 8 years now. I’m retired, so I rarely drive beyond battery range. That means I arrive home at the end of the day, plug into the wall, and by the next morning without any additional effort on my part, the "fuel elves" have refilled my battery and I have a "full tank" when I drive off the next day!

I myself had the cell balancing procedure done last November on my 2012 Volt. Normally I plug in every day when I get home, even if I haven’t used up much of the battery. After getting the cell balance work done, however, I drove my Volt through 11 full charge/full depletion cycles (even if it took a couple of days to drive far enough to deplete the battery), so that the Battery State Estimate Algorithm could calibrate itself using data gathered from throughout the entire "usable window" of power (read more about that in moderator Steverino’s kWh Used vs. Battery Degradation FAQ: (kWh Used vs. Battery Degradation FAQ).