GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to the GM-Volt forum and wanted to introduce myself. I am an electric car enthusiast and have been watching the electric car market from the days of the EV1 and the early days of Tesla Motors on. I remember reading a review about an EV1 and was looking forward to being able to purchase an electric car myself. I am excited about the prospect of driving an electric car and decided that I would first get a Chevy Volt to start exploring the electric card world. I am currently shopping for a used Chevy Volt and have a few questions.

The range of used Volts I am looking at is between e.g.: a 2011 Volt with ~140K miles, some 2013, 2014 and a few 2015 models with around 80 to 100k miles.
What are some of the considerations of getting a high mileage Volt vs a newer model year?
I heard that Volts will last up to 300k miles, is that true?
I also heard that most Volts keep running with the original main battery well beyond the warranty period?
Are there model years with more issues which I should avoid?
I also heard that some Volt owners experienced a sudden loss of acceleration when they drive on a highway and the only way to resolve the issue is to get the car towed and serviced at a Chevy dealer?
Thank you in advance for any comments and answers to my questions!

Thank you!
ecat108

·
Registered
4,678 Posts