GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any idea what prompted the car to give me this message today? Does it show up periodically? I had just started the car and was fiddling with starting my iPhone.

WARNING

Taking your eyes off the road too long or too often while using this system could cause a crash, resulting in injury or death to you or others. Focus your attention on driving.
Volt msg - Copy.jpg

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
Doesn't the Gen 2 have some sort of lane keep assist? Perhaps it was active and monitors your head position. I can't imagine why it would do so if you were stopped, but that's the only explanation I can come up with. Of course take that with a grain of salt seeing as I'm new to Volt ownership, and only have a Gen 1 but it makes sense to me. :)

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
Did you enable ACC?
Sounds like a warning like Tesla has to have because people are stupid and think they can nod off and let the car drive itself.

·
Registered
3,491 Posts
It's telling you that despite the system being on, you still have to pay attention to what's going on.

·
Registered
5,782 Posts
Was it in park? Fiddling around in drive would evoke nanny action.

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
I have not taken the time to figure out how often this pops up, it may be 6 weeks like EMM. But, it makes sense that it only shows when you are parked. You should not be reading text while driving.

·
Registered
968 Posts
Mine does that at random too.
2016 Volt LT
No ACC or lane assist
Same here with my 2016 premier. Happens randomly usually see it just as I'm leaving home. Annoys me because it actually distracts me from driving becuase i have to read it then hit the ok button.

It has happened to me about a half dozen times in about a year of ownership.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts