GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been poking around the forum a lot recently, but figured I should make my first post to introduce myself. 28 years old, about to get married, from the Philadelphia area.

I researched the Volt for about a year and a half and had to do a lot of self-arguing to talk myself into buying any Volt, and eventually into a new (albeit heavily discounted) model. My 2005 RAV4 had been a reliable little truckster for me since college, but I decided as a lawyer, I wanted something a little more adult looking, and financially, the Volt made the most sense. I shopped around for a bit and started making contacts with dealers. When I finally got one that seemed willing to deal (after speaking to 2 dealers locally who laughed at the idea of taking more than 2K off the MSRP of some 2017 Premiers that had sat on the lot for over a year), I widened my net and found a seemingly awesome deal. It helped that on my trip to the dealer, the supposedly bulletproof RAV sputtered on start-up, and I noticed that I had somehow lost a quart of oil only 1,000 miles from my last change. The decision was effectively made at that point, and the next part was just finding the right deal.

I ended up with a new 2017 Premier, seemingly with everything but ACC and DC2. Got 9.5K off MSRP before tax and tags and decided not to haggle too much on the doc fees. Noticed a small dent in the hood about a week after purchase that I was initially miffed at, but decided that as I hadn't seen it until lifting the hood, it wasn't a big deal, and ultimately I could try to get it fixed with the 3 year PDR/rim protection/glass protection plan I got talked into. Seemed like a waste to me at the time, but is now seems totally worth it! At the end of the day, I'm going to spend less on the thing than I would on a similarly equipped Cruze.