GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my 2011 volt in March 2011. I have always been able to get 34-40 miles on a charge. Now I am only getting 26 miles on a charge I brought it in to the dealer and they charged me $ 200 diagnostic fee and said there is no a problem and handed me a stack of how to drive the Volt. I have been driving it for 7 years so I think I know how to drive it. There has to be a reason it has dropped miles. It is hot here in southern Arizona so it is not the cold and I am not using the AC.

·
Administrator
20,354 Posts
What has changed? New tires?

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
You know your car better than anyone. Obviously something is wrong, but now it's time for the real detective work since the dealership is useless.

Lot's of culprits here that you'll need to explore. Run through the usual suspects of sticky brake rotor (use a temp sensor on all of them after a ride). Check tires, tire pressure, etc. Since the 2011 doesn't offer the kWh used guesstimate, which can at least theoretically flag a real issue, you might need an OBD scanner to check your SOC and kWh used. A meter for your charger could help too. Do a full discharge and check if you notice that the meter shows that the car is accepting less kWh than it should before considering itself "full."

Start there and narrow it down. Too bad the dealership doesn't know to do these rather basic things for its Volt customers who often go in complaining about these exact issues.

·
Administrator
20,354 Posts
VoltenRock brings up a good question: are you regularly fully discharging and fully recharging the battery or are you doing mostly many small "top-offs" of the battery instead?

·
Premium Member
14,156 Posts
All batteries will degrade over time and the Volt's won't be an exception. So you should expect some degradation. However, going from 40 miles to 26 is a huge drop. Take it to the dealer.