GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've read somewhere (here? I forget) that the OEM LRR tires make a difference of ~10-15% efficiency compared to normal tires. But I've also read that the trade-off is in the form of almost no road grip, e.g., tires chirping when hard-accelerating from a stop in even ideal conditions. My hypothetical is: would changing to normal tires improve a Volt's performance? Has anyone done this and documented the results of a 0-60?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Can't fully answer your question as I've never run a timed 0-60 nor do I have extensive experience with different tires.

However I can say that I recently replaced my original factory LRR's (with about 45k miles on them) with used but good condition winter tires (don't ask), and the performance difference in my experience is not significant. Tires still chirp when goosing the accelerator from a stop, and they still screech when pulling some Gs around corners. Maybe a slightly more solid/planted feel to them, but not enough to warrant upgrading (for my purposes anyhow).

The range hit on the other hand is quite pronounced, and I'd agree with the 10-15% figure. Also the road noise is significantly increased, and very noticeable particularly at highway speeds, often being much louder than the wind noise.

YMMV of course (literally), and I realize winter tires may not be even remotely similar to any tires you're considering… but I for one was surprised how minimal the difference in performance was and thought it may be relevant to your question. Hopefully others with more (and more relevant) experience will chime in soon.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Have LRR tires from another manufacturer. There is no standard for efficiency gained or lost for LRR tires, unfortunately.