GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I've been watching EVs for a while now and got attracted to the Volt recently. I was looking at some Leafs but the battery degradation here in AZ was terrible and range anxiety is legit, so that got tossed out the window.

I'm not too familiar with the Volt so I'm doing my homework, but what do you all think of these 3 options I'm looking at?

Volt 1:
$11k
85k miles
Premium features

Volt 2:
$7500+shipping from CA (maybe $450?)
132k miles
Premium features

Volt 3:
$6850
110k miles (Box C title meaning it's not actual)
Trim level unknown

I studied the Leafs quite a bit, so I need to educate myself on what to look for and look out for on the Volt. Any quick tips and pointers? Also is there some cool tool for diagnosing battery capacity left or engine miles or anything (ex. Leaf Spy but for Volts)?

Thanks for all your help! Hopefully I can find myself in a Volt soon!

·
Registered
807 Posts
Of those three, I would go for the 2013 (Volt 1). In addition to being the only one with the Voltec Warranty still in place, the 2013 introduced "Hold" mode which allows you to run the ICE when you want to (e.g. when entering a freeway for example) in order to save the EV range for local streets. For 2011/2012, there is an app that you can use to simulate Hold mode (MyVoltHold I think) used in conjunction with an OBD-II connector.

#3 I would rule out just because of the possibility of odometer tampering. Price comes into play depending on how long you plan to keep the car and how much you have to spend.

Good luck with your research and purchase.

·
Registered
41 Posts