GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to provide this warning to anyone using a Kill-A-Watt meter with their 120V charger...don't do it!

I have been using my Kill-A-Watt for at least 4-5 months. It seemed to work fine with little excess heat, that is, until yesterday. I had been charging for about 4 or 5 hours yesterday and returned to find my KAW partially melted and my Voltec charger plug stuck in it. I tried my best to pry the plug out from the meter, but one prong became unattached from the Voltec's plug. Even with pliers, I was unable to remove the prong from the meter (it must be melted to the meter's contacts).

The Voltec's plug (the newer black version) doesn't seem to show any heat stress and the back of the KAW meter (its male prongs) only show some slight heat marks, but nothing like the front in the picture below. That makes me think that it was an issue with the Kill-A-Watt meter, not the Voltec charger.

Anyway, all of you using similar meters, you've been warned. I think I see why the 2013's are defaulted to 8 amps.

Technology Electronics Electronic device Lock

·
Administrator
21,030 Posts
I agree, not for long term use. But why would you use it for any longer than a week to establish a cost to charge?

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
I was going to use a Kill-A-Watt every time I charged to show the condo how little electricity I was using, if and when I get a parking spot with a plug nearby. Guess I won't be doing that...

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·