GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you may recognize my screen name from Priuschat where I've been an active participant and moderator for almost 5 years now.

I'm an ER physician (yea, another doc) in Springfield, MO and my family has 2 hybrids...I have an '04 Prius with ~73,000 miles and a lifetime 55mpg average. My wife drives an '06 Highlander Hybrid and gets around 27mpg.

I really really want a practical EV...big enough to carry my family of 5 around with a range of at least 200 miles and rapid charge capability...but I ain't gonna get that for a while. So I'm climbing the ladder and my next car WILL be a PHEV. Toyota's been pretty mum on what their PHEV will look like in strong contrast to GM...but then GM's got a lot further to go to win over the skeptics.

When the time comes I'll compare the options and choose the one I think is best. I admit a prejudice to Toyota due to my very positive experience with the Prius, but if their EV range is as low as I'm afraid it will be I'll opt for the Volt if they can really get me 40 miles...I need a minimum of 32...on a bad day (full A/C, full load). I'm also concerned about the seating. If I can't seat 5 (3 kids) it's a deal breaker and the car will be useless to me. I really wish we'd get more word on that. I know that battery design is problematic, but I'm holding out hope.

Anyway, I'm an occasional lurker here mostly and have been keeping an eye on the site since the early days of the old site. But as the forum grows and the day comes closer I may start becoming more vocal.

·
3,689 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately, the Volt will only have 4 seats. There was the huge hump from the battery pack to deal with.