GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just wanted to introduce myself and my Volt:

I own a 2014 Holden Volt, love the car, but like most, would like a little extra range, I have a 120km daily commute the car will get me 50 to 55kms on Battery due to high speeds on the route I take. I'm currently working on having a J1772 Level 2 fitted at work, so I may only need around 20kms worth of fuel a day, probably less if I start driving like a "normal" person.

I purchased this car as I wanted to take the plunge into the EV world, this is a big step for me as I’m an old school Automotive Mechanic and I have always owned big GM based V8’s and Japanese 4x4’s, and I must say, this Volt is the nicest car I have ever owned or driven, Its handling is superb and its quieter than a Lexus LS400 which was the quietest car I had ever driven… until the Volt.

I still own a new Colorado Pickup and newish Commodore, if I could get another one of these Volt’s, I would get rid of one of the other cars (The 4x4 must stay for work reasons)

The hardest thing I must deal with is stopping my wife from stealing the car everyday as she loves it even more than me, yet when we looked at them in 2013, she wanted the Commodore instead??? go figure :)

My Vehicle:

IMG_5296.jpg

IMG_5518.jpg

Mods:
  • 19” Wheels from a Holden Cruze, lost around 3 to 4kms battery range but they handle better than the factory wheels
  • Tinted Tail Lights (Got sick of seeing water leak into the outer cover, now I can’t see it at all).
  • Installed the smallest Alpine digital mono amp to drive the Bose subwoofer a little harder, also gives me some control to attenuate it without pushing the bass up on the head unit.