GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All - Brand new owner of an older volt. Just getting things set up and I notice that there doesn't seem to be a way to use the "Phone" feature. The manual mentions to enter the config menu, and then phone options, but they do not appear there. I have a phone button on the dash, but nothing happens when I push that, or the button on the main screen. The phone does connect and play music etc via the USB under the center console.... But I don't see any bluetooth icons anywhere, so I'm not sure how to connect the phone to this beast as mentioned in the manual.

Am I missing something?

·
Registered
2,284 Posts
In the 2012 Volt I’ve been driving for 10 years, I had no trouble bluetooth paring a new 4G android phone recently.

The Vehicle Personalization subsection of the Instruments and Controls section of the 2012 owner manual speaks about using the infotainment control buttons (on the center console) to bring up the Config Menu. Choices include Radio Settings, Bluetooth Settings, Display Settings, etc.

Does this menu on your vehicle NOT include the Bluetooth Setting option?

The manual chapter on the Infotainment System speaks about pairing the phone:

Pairing a Phone
1. Press the CONFIG button.
2. Select Phone Settings or Bluetooth Settings.
3. Select Bluetooth.
4. Select Pair Device (Phone).
A four-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN) appears on the display. The PIN is used in Step 6.
5. Start the pairing process on the cell phone to be paired to the vehicle. See the cell phone manufacturer's user guide for information on this process.