GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

The last few times I've had to unplug my volt mid charge (L1) I've noticed that the plug that goes into the wall outlet is uncomfortably hot. I haven't thought too much of it, as that is a good deal of juice, but today for some reason it's sticking in my head.

Has anyone else experienced this? If there is an issue, would it be with the outlet circuitry or with the EVSE itself?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated. I'm still pretty new at this.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
You need to replace that old wall outlet, ASAP, with a high quality 'screw post' type of outlet.

It's 12 Amps of current which is 80% of a 15 Amp circuit breaker.
This is a kosher set up,, as long as the Volt is the only thing on that circuit.
Things should NOT be getting hot. Maybe just a little warm. (Think vacuum cleaner.)

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
You are smart to be aware of that. I think mine only gets slightly warm. First of all, reduce your charge current to 8 amps until you trouble shoot this. I would first suspect the wiring of the outlet. Make sure the wires are connected to the screw terminals and not backstabbed. Also ensure the same for any other outlets that are on the same circuit. If you are not comfortable with that kind of thing, get an electrician.

·
8,680 Posts
It can be poor spring force in the outlet, a weak connection between the outlet and wire (many contractors use the cheap stab type instead of screwing on to the terminals,) or a weak connection between the plug and cable (common in early GM EVSEs.)

That heat is dangerous, and can cause a failure or possibly even a fire if not addressed.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #6