1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
I am a lawyer, but not a securities lawyer, but I have to say that Twitter announcement posed several giant red flags to me. Maybe he is feeling the pressure given the short sellers, and given the significant possibility that as a public company it’s not going to survive.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
11,416 Posts
Yeah, the business channel is buzzing.

He can't do this without shareholder approval FYI. Trading resumed 15 minutes ahead of the close.

·
Registered
11,416 Posts
Closed up 10% at $387.46. It's already dropped a bit after hours.

If my fund companies that hold this stock don't sell their interest in this company I'm going to dump them. Without the SEC/public trading a lot of irresponsible financial things can happen and I don't want to be any part of it. Mainly, I just don't want to hear about it.

In a series of follow-up tweets, Musk confirmed that one reason to go private would be to save "a lot of headaches." He also added that his "hope" was that all current investors could remain as investors even if Tesla were to go private, potentially by creating a "special purpose fund" similar to SpaceX's capital structure.
He'd better hope so because if his "secured" funds buy out everyone at $420, he's no longer going to be the majority share holder. He doesn't have the cash to do this. Word is the 'Saudis' may be his backer, whatever that means.

https://www.nasdaq.com/article/why-tesla-stock-skyrocketed-and-got-halted-cm1003704

·
Registered
2,999 Posts