GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
This looks like a spammy topic, but I'll chip in because I'm an electrical engineering student and graphene is actually one of my main fields of interest.

Graphene is great because it has a high surface area. High surface area is very good for electrodes in power supply elements like batteries and capacitors. That means that graphene can be used to increase the capacity of existing Li-Ion technology, but it can be used to make "supercapacitors" as well.

Now, supercapacitors haven't yet reached the energy density level of batteries, but they are superior in the sense that they have extremely fast charging times, seconds to minutes.

Since I'm only an electric car enthusiast and don't own one myself, I'd love to hear how long it takes you to fully charge a Volt from zero, and how much of an impact it would make on your driving if you could charge it in one minute.

EDIT: No offense to the OP if it's just his english that sucks and this was not a spam topic.

·
Registered
236 Posts
Full charge on the volt w/a level 2 charger is about 4.5 hours...full charge on 110 is around 12 hours. I have always thought that there is too much focus on electric "range" as the main impediment to more universal acceptance of the electric car. Range is important, but, shorter range could be compensated for by much quicker charge times.

In my most humble (ha ha) opinion, they should design electric cars around my bladder. Range about 2 hours, and recharge time about 15 minutes....

·
Registered
7 Posts