GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody.I am a newbie to the site and have to thank everyone for the excellent treaure trove of info out here.I bought a red 2013 volt 6 weeks ago,recently got a 240 V line installed in the garage and hooked up a plugin GE Wattstation.As I connect the charger I hear 2 loud thud noises in sequence and Volt does not start charging(charging starts off with one loud thud noise which is normal I understand).The wattstation keeps repeating these loud noises for another 2-3 times before it falls silent.I put it off and restart again and same thing has been happening.I tried the regular 110 V charger and it works fine.Does anyone have any idea why this is happening.I haven't called my volt advisor or the GE help desk yet,will try it in the am.
could this be from low voltage through the 240V port ?
has anyone had similar problem with the GE wattstation?
thanks in advance

·
Administrator
20,583 Posts
The Volt Advisor will not be of help on a GE Wattstation. You already know the car can charge, it's the GE that's having an issue. What does the GE owners manual have to say? If it has no answers, you may need to call GE.

·
Registered
332 Posts
Possible wiring issue

Check the wiring on the wattstation. I'm assuming you're using a Plug-in model and if so there's a discrepancy between the instruction sets for the hardwired version and the plug-in. The hardwired version calls for two hot & one neutral. The plug-in version calls for two hot and one ground (proper NEMA 6-50 wiring). The issue is that the pin on the unit used for the ground on the plug in version is the same exact pin used for neutral on the hardwired version. There is really no difference between the two units except one has a plug, the other does not.