GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I've been a long time Prius driver and have owned 4 different ones. Well I currently have a 2012 Prius v wagon (the biggest one) but it looks like it is starting to consume oil.. it only has 106k on the clock. So if it keeps on or getting worse I might trade it for a Volt. I'd be looking at a 2011-2013 Volt. And I AM aware of the differences in the 13+ Volts. Here are my questions

My main concern is how the car actually drives when the battery runs out, since I will still drive it a lot on gas only mode. Does the engine turn off when coasting, stopped, low speed driving? I'm just worried that I'm so used to my Prius it will feel odd in city driving when my battery is depleted. My V wagon will shut down the engine anytime you take your foot of the gas below 46 MPH and can coast/drive along silently.

How many gallons do most of you actually put in the tank when you fill up from empty?and would running mid grade be okay?

would it achieve 40 MPG on a 200 mile highway trip at 70 mph?

I drive from Nashville to Alpharetta GA pretty often and my car currently gets 43 mpg doing that.

Sorry for all the questions, I've been lurking for a long time now. Finally a member. Thanks in advance!! :) -Aaron

·
Registered
718 Posts
The Volt feels exactly the same when the battery runs out, it is still mostly an electric car with just the electricity being produced by the ICE powered generator. There are some elaborate hybrid mode at certain speed, but you dont really feel it.

It also tries to only run the Gas engine powered generator when the car is above a certain speed, this means it keeps a charge buffer in the battery, so that the ICE it turned off when you stop, and electricity is still used to start and at low speed.