GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I am studying to get my license and thinking the car I want is the chevy volt. are there any things I should know as a new car owner and a owner of a new volt? my brother was saying that his brother in law who works on cars sees a lot of volts that have issues with the steering getting locked after the battery dies. however I have not seen any mention of this online.

any info on that particular issue and anything else you guys think I should know?

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
so I am studying to get my license and thinking the car I want is the chevy volt. are there any things I should know as a new car owner and a owner of a new volt? my brother was saying that his brother in law who works on cars sees a lot of volts that have issues with the steering getting locked after the battery dies. however I have not seen any mention of this online.

any info on that particular issue and anything else you guys think I should know?
Your brother's brother-in-law has seen a lot of instances of something that has never been reported by the many Volt owners in this forum. I wonder how we all missed it?

As a greenback/loonie troll all I would advise is that you be sure you really can afford a Volt as a first car, if you are thinking about a new one. There do seem to be good deals on used ones, and Gen1 Volts have proven to be exceptionally reliable.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
its not that expensive. however I want the driver convenience package 2 so I have to find out if that is available as an option in the LT.

·
Banned
7,289 Posts
its not that expensive. however I want the driver convenience package 2 so I have to find out if that is available as an option in the LT.
Nope, any driver confidence packages only come on Premier trims.

edit: oh wait, sounds like you are talking about a Gen 1? My post is in reference to 2016+ Volts.

·
Registered
13,556 Posts