GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Found out from GM I have a blown head gasket and a leaking rear main on my GEN1 Volt. GM wanted $3300 just to do the Head gasket. I located a totaled Volt near near that has a completely crushed rear end with 37,621 on the OD. I paid ($538.75) for the motor on the spot and will be going to pick it up tomorrow.

The job bills out @ 10.8 hours but was unable to find any resources or "how to" swapping out the gas generator, in the Volt. I have replaced the HV traction batteries on 4 different Prius, as well as water pumps and other little things but have never done a Volt, and I'm not a mechanic. I do know I need to pull the service disconnect plug (just like the prius), first.

Has anybody done this? Are there any resources known to aid me?

·
8,680 Posts
Welcome. Quite an ambitious project for your first Volt experience.

Haven't really seen it done - I assume the GM shop manual would be the best set of directions. I do know that if the MSD is out while 12V power is on the car, you need a dealer computer to reset the resulting codes (not just any code reader/scanner.)

·
Registered
433 Posts
There's no resources out there because nobody has needed to do this yet I would imagine, thus far full engine replacements have been extremely rare. Maybe 1-3 reported and they were done under warranty by a dealer. Steverino will know for sure. I suppose you are out of the powertrain warranty on your 2013?

·
Registered
157 Posts
Subscribed!

You've got that spare Tesla so go for it. But this is going to be complicated. Got access to a lift?

I'm guessing the best way to do this is drop the engine and trans out the bottom. Unfortunately there are cooling lines running everywhere for the big battery so you're gonna have to figure that one out. The AC is also used to assist in cooling during charging so that's an additional complication if you've to to open that up.