GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my Volt in Oct last year and love everything about it. Since Ive been driving it for 7 months now, I have a couple questions that I know this forum can answer.

- Is it safe to drive in 'L' at high speeds on the freeway, @70-75mph?
and
- Is it safe to shift between 'D' and 'L' while moving?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Shift away! You can drive at any speed you want in "L" or "D". Why you may ask, because D and L aren't really gears, they are really just different modes of regen. "L" being more aggressive than "D". It is an electric car, not a dinosaur ICE vehicle.

VIN # B0985

·
Registered
718 Posts
I bought my Volt in Oct last year and love everything about it. Since Ive been driving it for 7 months now, I have a couple questions that I know this forum can answer.

and

Yes and Yes.
Shifting to L simply maps a different amount of regen when you lift your foot off the accelerator, it is basically just a Software change, no mechanical changes, so it can safely be made under any circumstances

·
Registered
419 Posts
and
Yes to both.

"L" is not a gear. At a given mph (or kph), the Volt electric motors run at same RPM whether or not you are in "D" or "L".

"L" simply causes a bit of regenerative braking when you lift your foot off of the accelerator pedal, allowing "one pedal" driving. You can get mild braking without having to use the brake pedal - just ease off the accelerator pedal.

You can drive 100 mph all day long in "L" and do no harm to the Volt - at least, no more harm than if you had it in "D" the whole time!

This same question comes up once a month or so. The answer is still the same! :)

·
1,027 Posts