GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, hello everybody!
I am a mechanical engineer and I have lots of interest in EVs and hybrid technology.

So, after reading and watching quite a lot on the Chevy Volt's design and operation modes, I couldn't help asking myself has this design, with all its innovation, missed the whole purpose?
Of course, that depends what was GM's purpose in the first place. Building a sophisticated novel machine, or offering the people a real alternative to gasoline cars?

I think that two major wrong decisions were made initially in the design process: Battery Chemistry and the VOLTEC transmission.

As I far as I studied this subject, going with Lithium Iron Phosphate (LFP or LiFePO4 ) chemistry would have yield a cheaper, more compact and longer lasting design, while still supplying the same performance of range and acceleration. I saw a video where one of the Volt's development team said he is satisfied with their choice of Lithium-Manganese-Spinel. I also read that Chevrolet are still interested in LiFePO4 chemistry, but didn't choose it because A123 couldn't assure delivering LiFePO4 cells at the quality needed for a manufacturer the magnitude of GM.
I am speculating a little here, but I think goint with LiFePO4 is much better choice. This chemistry has much longer life cycles, it can be discharged almost 100% and still live long. It is also much less sensitive to heat aging, so it could be just fine with a simpler cooling system. All in all, the LiFePO4 could be only 12KWh, with a more compact cooling system, and this would have taken much less space from the car interior. So a fifth seat could be availible that way. This would have reduced the battery cost. LiFePO4 is a little bit heavier per KWh, but it does not occupy more volume. It could still deliver the same 10 KWh the Chevy uses out of it's 12 KWh without degredation. The same for the 110 KW peak power.
LiFePO4 would be: