GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Never had a car before with a dash chrome reflection problem. Constantly seeing the dash chrome in the side windows at the side view mirror. Anyone come up with a good (looking) fix for this to block out this reflection? Thought about trying to black out the chrome, but that would not look good. Probably will just have to live with it.

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
I saw a 2017 today at the dealer, it had a more matte-finish trim. Wonder if they finally got the message?
LT (matte) vs Premier (chrome).

·
Registered
568 Posts
I would +1 on chrome look being annoying while driving.

I have some experience with Plasti-Dip -- pretty good stuff to be honest. I sincerely hope they took the trim pieces off and out of the car before they did any spraying, that stuff goes everywhere in spray mode.

·
Registered
11,416 Posts
I sincerely hope they took the trim pieces off and out of the car before they did any spraying, that stuff goes everywhere in spray mode.
Some old bed sheets and/or large towels can be very helpful. A lot easier than disassembling the dash.

·
Registered
568 Posts
I haven't gotten to sit in a volt or tinker with one yet... but I would assume those trim pieces sort of "pop" right off? At least that would be the optimal setup.

If it came down to it where they didn't -- i'd probably them opt to do some sort of vinyl wrap job on those trim pieces instead of risking plastidip everywhere in the car (or taking 2 hours to prep properly so everything that isn't getting dipped is covered and safe.

·
Registered
3,375 Posts
Never had a car before with a dash chrome reflection problem. Constantly seeing the dash chrome in the side windows at the side view mirror. Anyone come up with a good (looking) fix for this to block out this reflection? Thought about trying to black out the chrome, but that would not look good. Probably will just have to live with it.