GM Volt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Context: 2013 Volt 22k over the course of a couple months.

So this will now be the forth time I've brought my vehicle to the dealer for a creek in the rear. They appear to know what's causing it but cannot seem to repair it or are doing it half arsed. I don't know, I'm no mechanic here. :confused:

• The first time, the noise did not go away.
  • The second time, I brought it in reporting the noise increased during wet weather. After "repair" this the noise appeared to be gone. They said the "wet" indication I pointed out helped resolve.
  • The third time, it was instead of the "right side", now it was the left (driver side). After "repair" the noise appeared to be gone.

Now the forth time, the noise has returned on the left side, and now the noise occurs even without going over bumps like clock work. Just standard driving under 20miles an hour or start/stop motions and I can even make it occur while parked outside the car. It is very recognizable and not a normal noise, almost sounds like a bad shock (however not). Can be heard outside the vehicle from inside.

Note about the third repair, I don't have the paperwork handy on the previous occasions.
WORKED SUSPENSION ON A DRIVE ON LIFT, ISOLATED THE NOISE SOURCE, CONTACTED TECH. ASSISTANCE CASE #8-1733116688, FASHIONED AN INSULATOR, INSTALLED THE INSULATOR THE THE LEFT TRAILING ARM BUSHING, ROAD TESTED THE VEHICLE TO VERIFYING CRITERIA AND THE SYSTEM IS OPERATING AS DESIGNED.
Each time the tech acknowledged the noise (other than the first and second to me verbally as the second was when they supposedly determined it), its been the same tech working on it each time. On the 3rd visit, he basically stated, we did what we did on the right to the left. (my first thought was why didn't you do that the second visit around).