GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Considering buying a used Volt(NOT another "should I buy" thread), buyers checklist?

I've been kicking around the idea of buying a Volt for about 6 months now...recently used one of the calculators here, and realized that given the number of miles I'll be racking up in commuting alone, the car will dang near pay for itself in gas savings alone (current daily is a Hemi Ram, and my round trip commute is 90-100 miles, 4 days a week).

I'm primarily looking at 2013-2015 cars, largely due to budget reasons, though I also like the "hold" mode these cars have too. I'm not spending 30K on a car, regardless, as this is mostly a financial decision for me, in that the Volt will save me on gas cost. Even when gas goes up to $4+/gallon again, it will still be cheaper for me to keep driving the paid off gas guzzling V8 truck than a new car payment/increased insurance cost/increase license plate costs, etc. For me, the magic number is right about $15,000 for the car, before factoring in trade in/down payment, which essentially rules out anything beyond a 2015 model.

I've seen some references here to checking EV vs ICE miles on cars, lifetime MPG (particularly revealing fleet type usage) and some other things. I've also read that all the cars come with 110VAC charging cords, which I assumed to just be an extension cord with the funky plug on one end. Then I noticed some car ads online included pictures of what I'm assuming to be charging units.