GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to this and was recommend by MrEnergyCzar (thanks!).
I'm currently looking at buying a new car and the Volt ticks almost every box! But can't find answers to a couple things? Hope someone can help? The following might be a little random for one thread, sorry!

1) When using an iPod via USB (in my case a iPhone 5 iPod) on a 2013 Volt, does cover art work appear on the centre screen? I've read yes and no? But recently tested it on a 2012 Volt and nothing! It only showed track name etc, no cover art. But the 2013 owners manual say it can? Is this a 2013 feature? Can anyone confirm / show a photo? Please.

2) I'm also looking at installing a home charger. Only really interested in the GM Voltec 240v unit cause it's GM design and beautiful! But is there any security to stop someone else using the charger when mounted outdoors (front of home)? Maybe using a key switch? Anyone have a solution or see a problem with this?

Hope someone can help.

Thanks.

Sham

·
Registered
264 Posts
This is an awesome care, and issue #1 should not stop you from getting it.
I would not be very concerned about #2 either. Do a lot of people currently use your 110 outlet in the front of your house while you are away? Most people wouldn't even know what the Voltec (or any other Level 2 EVSE) was hanging in your front yard. Plus, you could probably mount it somewhere somewhat discrete.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

The car is great! Can't wait to get my own!

1) This issue shouldn't stop be but it does annoy me! If I'm spending that sort of money I want to upgrade, not just settle. Another issue which I'm now over is no Power Fold Mirrors, I got it confirmed with Chevrolet that this was considered but never added. Annoying things is it's printed in the owners manuel!