GM Volt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK the issue with the woman in Michigan having her garage plug cut by her condo board is really disturbing. In fact, as a Volt owner and condo resident, its down right infuriating.

As an attorney, I understand the issues and how the condo board is violating this owner's rights. -- I think that the time has come that there should be greater, direct advocacy for homeowners and tenants in similar situations. EV owners need to speak up and help.

It will, however, take some time and effort, and ability to research and offer assistance.

Are there any other attorneys, or other people on here interested in doing so?

I think I will be starting an EV policy and advocacy organization as part of this. The time has come -- no one else, outside of California's legislators, perhaps, has done much of anything to fight for access rights to charging for multiunit property residents.

Forgive the OT rant, but I just think something now needs to be done, rather than just continuing to leave every EV owner in a condo or apartment building to continue to fend for himself alone.

·
Administrator
20,152 Posts
HOA's often operate on the principle that all must look and act the same. Some people like trading free will for collective, enforced sameness in the hope it will insulate them from "undesireables". But what happens when you charge you car instead of filling it with gas? You become out of step with the collective ant-hill mindset, you become an undesirable.

·
Registered
49 Posts
In Michigan, the average electrical rate is $.12 per Kw. If she fully charged her car every single day of the month, the total would be 31 X 0.12 X 11(approx), or $40.92. No way is $200 justified except out of spite.

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
OK the issue with the woman in Michigan having her garage plug cut by her condo board is really disturbing. In fact, as a Volt owner and condo resident, its down right infuriating.